Ilum PvP quests

6 posts
By Kazmara at 2012-01-29 18:42:26
Will someone please help out a noob here? I just turned 50, went to Ilum and taxied to the PvP area. All of the quests appeared magically in my quest log and we had control of all 5 points. I hung out there for close to 30 mins. What did I miss? How does one turn in the quests? Did I not stay long enough to get the "Victory!" window like in Huttball?
By Spinky at 2012-01-29 20:22:54
you need to pick up the daily/weekly from your factions fleet pvp terminal.
By Kazmara at 2012-01-29 23:25:14
The daily and weekly quests picked up by the fleet pvp terminal are both "hunt and gather" type quests, not the Battle for Ilum quests. When I was in the pvp area, I had 5 separate quests, one for each of the control points. I saw the system text saying: Mission Complete: Battle for Ilum: Center Assault Area, for example, for each of the control points. However, when I left the area, the quests were gone from my quest log and I see no indication that I received any credit for my efforts there, i.e. no credits, no commendations, no quest completion rewards... only the system texts. I still don't understand. What is the point of controlling Ilum? What did I miss?
By Kazmara at 2012-01-30 12:21:21

I finally got an answer on this question from a helpful player in General Chat. The answer he gave seems to make sense as it supported what I experienced.

The "quests" that appear in your mission log, e.g. Battle for Ilum: Central Assault, are not really "quests" in the true sense, i.e. reporting back to an NPC or mission terminal for reward. They magically appear in your mission log, simply to allow you to track which faction has control of each contested point and gives additional information on gaining control of that area. That appears to be their only purpose, thus, they magically disappear when you leave the area. There seems to be no reward of any tangible value for controlling the entire area.